PRESS RELEASE – Indigenous Voices Awards 

The Indigenous Voices Awards and Indigenous Literary Studies Association (ILSA) are excited to announce the official launch of the 2018-19 Indigenous Voices Awards (IVAs) and to invite submissions to this year’s competition. From humble beginnings in the Spring of 2017 in response to #AppropriationPrize controversy, the IVAs have become a celebration of Indigenous writing.


Judges for this year’s awards include Jeannette Armstrong, Warren Cariou, Margery Fee, Gabriele L’Hirondelle Hill, Francis Langevin, and Jean Sioui.


·      Requests for interviews with any of these individuals, with this year’s esteemed jurors (whose credentials are listed below), finalists from last year’s IVAs, and with members of the ILSA executive can be made to Deanna Reder at

Information about the Indigenous Voices Awards –


The IVAs support Indigenous literary expression in its diversity and complexity, honouring the sovereignty of Indigenous creative voices while rejecting cultural appropriation.

Acclaimed jurors include Indigenous writers Jeannette Armstong, Warren Cariou, Gabrielle L’Hirondelle Hill, and Jean Sioui, as well as important figures in the Canadian literature scene, Margery Fee and Francis Langevin.

Deadline for submission to the IVAs will be March 1, 2019.

Announcement of the winners will take place on June 4, 2019 in Vancouver, on unceded xʷməθkʷəy̓əm, Sḵwx̱wú7mesh, and səl̓ilwətaɁɬ Lands.

Information can be found at

Donations to the IVAs can still be made at


About ILSA

The Indigenous Literary Studies Association was created in 2013 to address the need for a scholarly body based in lands claimed by Canada that focuses specifically on the study and teaching of Indigenous peoples’ literatures. The association’s guiding purpose is to honour the history and promote the ongoing production of Indigenous literatures in all forms; to advance the ethical and vigorous study and teaching of those literatures; to reaffirm the value of Indigenous knowledges and methodologies within literary expression and study; to foster respectful relationships within and between academic and non-academic communities; to facilitate mentorship and professional development; and to advocate for responsible institutional transformation.